Manic Monday: Stars Are Never Sleeping and Neither Am I

It’s 2 am and I can’t fucking sleep.

Also, I think I’m starting to become immune to warm milk with honey.

I shouldn’t be surprised, I guess. I mean this always happens when I have a few days off; my sleep cycle sort of rearranges itself and I’ll be up until 5 am and sleep until 1 pm. That’s the recommended eight hours. Unfortunately not in the recommended time slot. I want to sleep like a normal person. I want to get up tomorrow morning and be productive, because some productive things have to be done during normal people hours. Like hoovering. Or buying bread. Or returning library books.

It’s not like I’m not tired. I am tired. I’m having a bad case of all day tiredness because the weather’s getting slightly warmer and this is how my migraine chooses to express itself, beside the splitting headache. And yet I can’t fall asleep. I went to bed at 11. That’s early for me. I thought I’d be a good little adult and have an early night so I could have a productive day tomorrow and anyway, I was bored. Then I spent almost three hours lying around and telling myself to finally doze off, dammit! Somewhere in all of this Boyfriend came to bed, plopped down onto his side and started snoring within five minutes. Not fair! That man can sleep anywhere and everywhere. Couch. His computer chair. Standing on the subway. I want that super power! Forget telepathy or flying. Being-able-to-fall-asleep-whenever-I-want-to it is.

I’m not even being kept awake by stress, because I don’t have any at the moment. Which of course will change if my sleep cycle keeps this up, because I have to work later this week and if I don’t get any sleep beforehand I’ll be a fucking zombie!

Should I just stay awake an entire day so I’ll be dead tired and sleep tomorrow night? Sure, I could try. I’ve done it before. Only problem is, every time I do that I start hallucinating around 4 pm! One of the reasons I don’t call it beauty sleep but rather sanity sleep.

It’s not even the spaceships keeping me awake. I think about spaceships a lot. I spent so much time researching science fiction I may or may not be going slightly insane(r). Just yesterday I spent an hour cooking up a futuristic sitcom, a sort of Golden Girls in space, four old women being roommates on a gigantic Star Destroyer or something. No? Well, I think it would be great!

Luckily the internet’s always awake, too. That’s why internet is my friend. Oh, what would I be without thee, thou sweet diverting tubes and wires? Sooo I’m just going to sit up and watch Golden Girls clips on Youtube until my unconscious face hits the keyboard. This might take a while.

One thought on “Manic Monday: Stars Are Never Sleeping and Neither Am I

Speak up, I can't hear you!

