Year End: The Last Complaint of 2014

Okay, okay, fine, I’ll push my inner Negative Nancy down a well for a bit and start with some good things that happened this year:

  • At the start of the year I finally received my paperwork stating that I had indeed graduated.
  • I found a sort-of job!
  • I had at least some job interviews.
  • Boyfriend has learned that making me a cup of tea helps with almost any situation.
  • I did useful and productive and even creative stuff.
  • I got new hot glasses.
  • I finally made us some decent curtains.
  • I finally caved and got a smartphone. And for cheap, too!
  • I started watching Doctor Who.
  • New WoW expansion!
  • I kind of got over myself in a lot of ways.

And now to balance things out, the negative:

  • I’m pretty broke.
  • Mostly because I don’t have a decent job.
  • I spent the better part of the year job hunting and I know I’m super impatient, but come on. Even the idiots from my old school who can’t find their own elbows on a good day have some sort of job!
  • It takes everyone at least a month to figure out I have new glasses or a new hair colour. Like, people who see me almost every day.
  • Insurance is insane and I’m not even going to go into detail.
  • Everything is so damned expensive it’s not even funny. I mean, I guess I could eat my old course books…
  • I’m turning into an angry old curmudgeon. Curmudgeonette? Whatever. I always have the overwhelming urge to respond to any kind of sentiment uttered by anyone younger than me with “Kid, you’re X age, that’s normal. I felt that way. Your fucking kids will feel this way. Get over it.”

Ah, well. Can’t have one without the other. Happy new year, folks! I’m going to put on a TV marathon and stuff my face with cheese fondue, what’re you up to?

Speak up, I can't hear you!

