All My Friends Are Dead and It’s Only Wednesday

Daily Prompt Time!

Many of us had imaginary friends as young children. If your imaginary friend grew up alongside you, what would his/her/its life be like today? (Didn’t have one? write about a non-imaginary friend you haven’t seen since childhood.)

Still dead.

Because my childhood imaginary friend – the one I remember, at least – was a ghost boy.

I have no idea why.

Maybe my mother let me watch too much Casper the Friendly Ghost when I was young. Maybe I was just a seriously weird kid because according to Mom I had a whole entourage of imaginary friends. I just remember Ghost Boy, though.

I don’t remember much because I was like three or four years old. He was called Casimir. Now that I think of it, I guess he did look a lot like Casper. Small wonder I’m so much into fanfiction, I was basically a self-insert OC before I even learned to write. Apparently he was my scapegoat for everything. Whatever mischief I got into, it was aaalways somehow Casimir’s fault. Like, either it was “It was him what did it!” or he had somehow encouraged me to do something I wasn’t supposed to do. It was ingenious, really, because of course Mom couldn’t go punish a ghost, that would be plain ridiculous. Four-year-olds can be strangely logical sometimes.

And also of course, that didn’t help a bit and we both got a good telling-off because Mom adhered to the principle of “Two can play that game, motherfucker”. If you have an overly imaginary kid on your hands, you have to be overly imaginary yourself. Whatever, totally worth it.

I have this theory that imaginary friends are just aspects of our too rapidly growing identity when we’re children. We change so fast, we can’t understand it, so we give it a tangible form, something familiar, something to talk to and understand. That’s just what humans do, as soon as our survival is taken care of, we try to understand everything. Ourselves. Life. The universe. What the fuck is wrong with the toaster. Humans are all about understanding shit. So in a way imaginary friends never really leave. They just go back where they came from, into your head, probably improved. Random personality aspect 2.0.

Or maybe kids really can see ghosts, ghouls, time travellers and aliens, and we’re all screwed.

So if Casimir had grown up with me I guess he would either be an annoying presence telling me to stop procrastinating and get the fuck to work, or he’d be the reason I procrastinate so much. Could go both ways, really. Can ghosts even grow up? Either way… it was him, not me! I didn’t do a thing! I wasn’t even in the country! (Thanks, bro, you’re cool.)

 

5 thoughts on “All My Friends Are Dead and It’s Only Wednesday

  1. I used to love Casper the Friendly Ghost when I was little! Haha, what better reason to have an imaginary friend than for him to take the blame for all the bad stuff… seriously, I might take a leaf out of your four year old self’s book.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah, if you still have imaginary friends by the time you’re twenty, you’ve rolled into something else entirely and are heading for your local mental health unit. Shame really. Somedays, when I’m writing alone, it’d be nice to have someone to talk to …

    Like

Speak up, I can't hear you!

