Two posts in one: Award Season?! and Let us all mourn the end of Blogging101, it will be missed.

I post a post on Saturday, then life happened, I come back… and it’s like the Oscar’s all up in here, what the heeeeell? I’ve been blogging  for barely a month and two strange people I won’t name (kidding – it was Metamorphosis of a Wallflower and A Stitch to Scratch. “It was them, guv, it was them what done it!”) sent me awards.

one-lovely-blog-1liebster21

I don’t even have a speech prepared.

I didn’t even know those things existed. The awards want me to give them to another 15 people. Where am I going to find 15 people? Do I even know fifteen people? If I know fifteen people on the internet, I officially know more people online than offline. Guess I have to go find 5 more people. (I mean, it never said I have to give them to 15 people like right now.) (In case anyone hasn’t noticed, I’m not really good with this whole community thing. Or… anything that involves humans. I’m like a fleshy Dalek.)

Anyway, THANK YOU, Metamorphosis of a Wallflower and A Stitch to Scratch for the Lovely Blog Award, and thank you, Metamorphosis of a Wallflower, again for the Liebster Award! (That looks like a German word, did you know that?)

So without further ado, here are my nominees:

That’s right, you two, I’m nominating you back and you can’t stop me! Nothing in the rules that I can’t do that, neener-neener.

The rules of A Lovely Blog Award are as follows:

Nominations for this award are chosen by fellow bloggers in order to recognize newer and up-and-coming bloggers. As a new blogger myself, I am so thankful for being nominated and, in turn, I would like to recognize 15 bloggers whom I feel connect with their audience in a lovely way, whether it be through humour, sharing relatable life tales, creative writing, or any other manner. While I will completely understand if the people I nominate do not wish to accept this award, I would still like to acknowledge them here, and I hope that everyone will give their blog a good read. If those nominated would like to accept this award, then I ask that they please follow the guidelines listed below:

1. Thank the person who nominated you for the award.

2. Add the One Lovely Blog logo to your post.

3. Share 7 facts/or things about yourself

4. Nominate 15 bloggers you admire and inform the nominees by commenting on their blog.

And now, according to the rules, I have to share 7 facts about myself:

  1. I have no idea what colour my hair is. It looks different in every kind of light. My passport says blond, but people usually refer to me as redhead.
  2. I’m 165cm (5’4”) tall. That’s not very tall.
  3. I read peer-reviewed journals for fun.
  4. I do calf raises while I brush my teeth.
  5. I wear glasses because I’m blind as a bat.
  6. Tea, not coffee. (Unless it’s Pumpkin Spice Lattes, but they put hardly any coffee in there.)
  7. I love 80s music.

And now, ladies and gentlemen, the nominees for… the Liebster Award!

So, here are the rules for accepting the Liebster Award:

  •  Post the award on your blog.
  •  Thank the blogger who presented this award and link back to their blog
  •  Write 11 random facts about yourself.
  •  Nominate 11 bloggers who you feel deserve this award and who have less than 200 followers.
  •  Answer 11 questions posted by the presenter and ask your nominees 11 questions.

Below are the answers to the questions asked by my nominator (is that a word?):

  1. What is your favourite season, and why??? I’m a white girl, so according to the internet, fall, duh. No seriously, though, I like fall. It’s like spring but without the pollen (I’m allergic), not mercilessly hot like summer, not freeze-your-ass-off cold like winter… sometimes, at least.
  2. How do you like your eggs done??? There’s a joke: “How do you like your eggs in the morning?” – “Unfertilized.” Ba-dum-tss. Fried.
  3. Any pets??? Nope. Allergic to just about everything. I mean, we haven’t tried Ewoks yet, but…
  4. What are you good at??? Bitch, please, you want a list?! I’m good at a lot of things. Like procrastination, I fucking dominate that.
  5. Favourite Christmas special on TV??? Batman TAS “Christmas with the Joker”. (It was on TV once, it counts.)
  6. Name a random hobby. Writing obscure and weird fanfiction.
  7. Do you collect anything??? Bad habits.
  8. Name one thing or type of thing that you always have to buy, but know you don’t need. Facewash. I’m so paranoid I’m going to run out mid-shower that I always have to buy some. Most of it is still sitting on the bathroom shelf.
  9. Favourite scent??? Like perfume? I have a really good French vanilla perfume, I like it a lot. I run around smelling like a Christmas bakery.
  10. Pumpkin spice lattes: yay or nay??? Definite YAY!
  11. Mac or PC??? Eh… PC, though I can work just fine on Mac. Mac doesn’t support a lot of my games, though.

Now that that’s done, here are 10 questions (because there’s only ten nominees, everything else would be unfair) for my unfortunate nominees:

  1. Pea-green nail polish, edgy or icky? (Bonus points if you get the reference)
  2. Tea or coffee?
  3. Favourite holiday?
  4. List three of your hobbies.
  5. What’s your favourite genre of music?
  6. What’s your favourite genre of film?
  7. What was your favourite subject in school?
  8. Impulse purchasing: Fess up, do you do it?
  9. What’s your favourite ice cream flavour?
  10. On a scale of 1 (not at all) to 10 (very, very much), how much of a procrastinator are you?

So remember, kids, I don’t often comment, but I ALWAYS read. My eyes are everywhere!

Now that that’s done, off to the second part of this post!

I was going to post all this yesterday already, but then I had an appointment with Aunt Eye Doctor and they gave me eye drops there. Like, right there, so their machine could test something or other. The stuff dilated my pupils until I looked like a stoned squirrel. No, really. That’s how big my pupils were.

Problem being, with a seriously dilated pupil you can’t see properly anymore. Everything right in front of my face, with or without glasses, was blurry as all hell. Everything at a 20-40 cm distance I could only see without glasses. Everything farther away, I could see with glasses on but not off.

So doing anything on the computer was a real task. Option 1: Put glasses on, sit so far back that I can’t reach the mouse anymore. Option 2: Take glasses off, put my face at a 20 cm distance from the screen, acquire neck cramps. Option 3: Sit normally, I’m fucked, I can’t see a damned thing.

So computer-related anything had to be delayed until now. Pupils are still kind of wide but no longer stoned-squirrel like.

Soooo I’m a bit late for the last Bloggin101 assignment, which was… what was it, anyway? Ah, yes, editorial calender. Okay, so we got Rant Day, which I’m definitely going to keep and which will possibly happen somewhere around the weekend. And then I thought I could introduce a little educational thing maybe every second week to tell you interesting stuff about Linguistics, anglophone literature, German, and other fun stuff! Won’t that be great, kiddies? Between that we still have my normal venting, which I guess will happen a lot more frequently than you’d like. Oh, sure, it’s funny at first, but it gets annoying real quick. It’s like a very active puppy.

And well, that was it for Blogging101. Anyone up for Blogging201? I’m still on the fence.

9 thoughts on “Two posts in one: Award Season?! and Let us all mourn the end of Blogging101, it will be missed.

Speak up, I can't hear you!

