Brought To You By Snoooorrrrrreee

Boyfriend finally left the house to meet his friends, and now I’m here with my cup of tea and my computer, all like aaaawwww yeeeeaaah. Silence. Aloneness. Alone, alone, all all alone, alone on a wide wide sea, the ancient Mariner had no clue he was in heaven already (okay, so apart from the rotting corpses, sometimes there’s budget cuts even in heaven).

In case someone doesn’t understand how I could possibly be happy that Boyfriend is not here… it’s an introvert thing. I love him an’ all, but I also love having the apartment to myself (also, we’ve left the stage of the relationship were you have to spend every free minute with your SO a long ass time ago). No TV running, no cursing over computer games, only the soft murmur of the computer fan and the gentle (okay, so that’s a lie) hammering of my typing.

I’m so tired I could fall asleep right here, and I haven’t even done anything today really (had a couple of mehdays in a row. Joy!), but instead of curling up on the sofa I’m going to tell you another thing I suck at. Have fun!

So today, kids, let’s play around with colours, says Blogging101, and I’m like… if only I wasn’t colourblind.

Okay, so I’m not actually colourblind, more like colourstupid. I’ve never developed an eye for colours. There’s a reason I mostly wear black, and it’s not because I’m some sort of existential goth poet (though I do own a beret). Here is a list of colours I can coordinate: black, grey, very dark red. Anything beyond that, fuuuuuck that shit, I have no idea what to do with it. Does this orange go with this yellow? Does this purple match the red drapes? What the hell is mauve even? Why are there fifty shades of salmon? What is the difference between teal and turquoise?

Somehow this whole colour-coordinating thing that women are supposed to do effortlessly was shamefully neglected in my upbringing. Maybe it was that my parents spent most of their being-young-times in the 70s and 80s, where you just threw every colour and shape together and hoped for the best. I couldn’t even do make-up before YouTube tutorials came around. When I was in my teens, I took way too much inspiration from 1994 The Cure and 1974 Alice Cooper. And even now that I know better I only stick to nude palettes lest I end up looking like the inspiration for the SWTOR character make-up options (seriously though, who designed these, a chimpanzee with double cataracts that somehow got hold of finger paint?)

So, for the blog thing, I changed the grey to a slightly lighter grey because, I don’t know… it looks friendlier? And the link thingies are still blue. Blue goes with grey, right? I don’t even know. Because I can’t colours. Also, because bright colourful shit gives me a migraine anyway.

So enjoy the new grey. I’m gonna go beat up some dwarf who owes me a mount. Byyyyeeee.

One thought on “Brought To You By Snoooorrrrrreee

Speak up, I can't hear you!

