Hungry Like the Trandoshan

It’s Saturday, so no Blogging101 today. Another week has passed and I’m feeling kind of… “whyyyyyy must time move so fast?!”

Sometimes I worry about how I will keep this blog running after Blogging101. I’m very much afraid that without a prompt to get my ass in gear this thing will just fade out again. It’s like with sleeping: Work, class, random trips to help friends and family with stuff, I’m up and running at five in the morning if I have to. But If I don’t have to be anywhere, or do anything, I’m not getting out of bed before noon and don’t get dressed before 2 pm at the earliest.

So, seeing as there are no rules for today, I’m going to tell you why Duran Duran’s Hungry Like The Wolf is actually a song about a Mandalorian bounty hunter.* Enjoy!

If you don’t know the song, well, that is tragic and I can’t let you run around with that absolute lack of knowledge:

Let’s have some fun and analyse the lyrics!

Dark in the city night is a wire
Steam in the subway earth is afire

Okay, so our bounty hunter – let’s assume it’s a female because my bounty hunter on SWTOR (and actually all but one of my characters) is female – is hanging around in a big city, I’m guessing Nar Shaddaa, which provides a never-ending supply of people who offer good money for no questions; could also be Coruscant, though, especially right before and during the Galactic Empire era, very popular place for that sort of thing.

Woman you want me, give me a sign
And catch my breathing even closer behind

So the client is a woman, and apparently she does not want to make her deal with our bounty hunter too obvious, establishing contact through “a sign” rather than just a frank talk, and meeting in a more private setting.

In touch with the ground
I’m on the hunt, I’m after you

The chorus offers a change in perspective, as the bounty hunter now addresses her prey directly. Our bounty hunter is checking the ground for clues as to the whereabouts of her future victim. Of course this might also be metaphorical and refer to her getting in touch and questioning a few choice people.

Smell like I sound, I’m lost in a crowd.
And I’m hungry like the wolf.
Straddle the line in discord and rhyme
I’m on the hunt, I’m after you.
Mouth is alive with juices like wine
And I’m hungry like the wolf

The bounty hunter is using the expansive population of the city crowd as camouflage to follow her victim without being detected (and may or may not be in need of a bath).

“Straddle the line in discord and rhyme” is basically just a poetic way of saying “Half the time you get the bear, half the time the bear gets you”. Which is not that great a success quota when you think about it.

The “hungry like the wolf” along with the “juices like wine” might refer to our bounty hunter being really hungry and may or may not be planning on taking a bite out of her victim. Not completely out of character for this universe; the Rattataki are rumoured to engage in the occasional bit of cannibalism, and Trandoshans eat everything. Alternatively, someone socked her in the mouth (occupational hazard).

Orrrr it might just be a metaphor, y’know, wolf, hunter, it kinda fits, like, a bit.

Stalked in the forest, too close to hide
I’ll be upon you by the moonlight side

Whoever is being hunted apparently changed planets, not really unusual if you have a whole galaxy to choose your hidey hole from. The bounty hunter, however, has already taken up the chase again and is gaining on them.

“High blood drumming on your skin, it’s so tight
You feel my heat, I’m just a moment behind”

The first direct confrontation follows. “You feel my heat” may refer to blaster shots being fired, with some of them hitting the target (high blood drumming), but not causing fatal injuries.

“In touch with the ground
I’m on the hunt, I’m after you
Scent and a sound, I’m lost and I’m found
And I’m hungry like the wolf.
Strut on a line, it’s discord and rhyme
I howl and I whine, I’m after you
Mouth is alive, all running inside
And I’m hungry like the wolf.

“Scent and a sound, I’m lost and I’m found” – The bounty hunter is using all her repertoire to locate her victim, who in turn tries to lose her, but fails, while the hunter makes a joke about it.

“I howl and I whine” …okay, so our bounty hunter might actually be a Wookiee, a Selonian, something even weirder, or just really frustrated (it’s okay, we all handle setbacks differently).

“Mouth is alive, all running inside”  – Dude, get some Corellian chicken wings or something if you’re hungry. You sound like you’re starving, take a break! Or did someone sock you in the mouth again? Might explain the next lines.

Burning the ground I break from the crowd
I’m on the hunt, I’m after you
I smell like I sound, I’m lost and I’m found
And I’m hungry like the wolf
Strut on a line, it’s discord and rhyme
I’m on the hunt, I’m after you
Mouth is alive with juices like wine
And I’m hungry like the wolf

Aaand we’re back to whatever area has a population large enough to form a crowd. The bounty hunter has now had enough, activates her jetpack (standard equipment of Mandalorian armour) and goes after the victim in an old-fashioned chase scene. The song leaves it for the listener to decide whether or not she ever collected the bounty for whoever she was hunting.

(My guess is yes, and it was probably just some Imperial royal being caught cheating on his very vengeful wife. Eh, could have been worse. Could have married a Sith. Dude would be burned to a crisp by now.)

 

*This is a work of fanfic-y wish fulfilment and sleep deprivation, and solely intended for shits and giggles. Do not, under any circumstances, take this too seriously.**

**I’m afraid this will only be funny to you if you are very into Star Wars, new wave, or both.

 

Honestly though, it’s just a really good song, my favourite song of the moment.

Speak up, I can't hear you!

