Mayday! Mehday!

Meh.

It’s the most perfect word in every language on every planet. Today it is especially important because it perfectly describes my day. I call days like this mehdays.

Basically it’s what happens when my sensitive-as-fuck-to-weather-changes migraine brain goes on a play date with my subliminal depression. Everything is meh. I rise from my bed early in the morning with the sound of “RRRrrruurgh! Arrggg!”, which is my usual ante meridiem vocabulary, and the world greets me with… meh. Weather: meh. Mood: apathetic meh. Breakfast: meh. Internet: meh. Shower: HOLY WARM GOODNESS OF THE GODS, but after two minutes: meh.

And that, in a nutshell, is a mehday. A day were everything is sort of annoying, but you’re too listless to do anything about it. A day were you don’t accomplish much, if anything, and the simple task of going to the store for bread turns into a burden of Lord of the Rings proportions. And you’re so tired, and you know you should be doing stuff, but you already know you won’t get anything done today, so you think about doing something fun, but suddenly all your hobbies are meh. So you slump on the couch and eventually fall asleep.

The general meh-ness of things is the reason why the blogging101 thing really got on my nerves today. Because everything gets on my nerves today. The fact that I have to breathe gets on my nerves. But it’s not an emotional getting-on-my-nerves, it’s a rational getting-on-my-nerves. The difference is as follows: “OMG THIS IS SO ANNOYING WON’T SOMEBODY DO SOMETHING ABOUT THAT RARRRAAGGHABL!” vs. “This is kinda annoying. Meh.” Feelings of hot burning rage vs. absolute absence of any feeling of any kind.

But I did it anyway to get out of the powerful grip of the Meh (yes, it’s a thing now, like the Nothing in The Neverending Story). So, I don’t know if anyone noticed, but I already changed the header a few days ago to a snippet from the collage that hangs above my bed (made it myself, yes, it’s Monty Python inspired, no it’s not my best work, blah, blah, shut up). So I did the widget thing and added another snippet from that same collage.

And that is all I’m going to do today. I’d make popcorn and go to bed, but even that seems too much work right now.

(Yes, I do want to post this, thank you very much, wordpress edit thingy, even if you say ‘meh’ is not a word. Do my bidding, electronic slave!)

13 thoughts on “Mayday! Mehday!

  1. Love the meh word but thankfully I don’t have many meh days now (retired and living a dream). I do have ‘gratchy’ days though, when I have to do something, and it’s like pulling teeth – hard, dull, but essential to do. Thanks for the funny post!

    Like

  2. I can totally relate to this. I definitely get meh days! On mine, nothing I do feels right and That I’m being completely unproductive. Like I should be doing something else but I have no idea what it is that I need to do to make myself feel un-weird. It’s these days that I sit and question most aspects of my life, dangerous! Maybe I should try blogging when these happen!
    You write really well, glad I found your blog! πŸ™‚

    Like

Speak up, I can't hear you!

